uOttawa announces members of new Committee on Academic Freedom

Posted on Friday, April 23, 2021

Tabaret Hall at uOttawa


On March 30, uOttawa President and Vice-Chancellor Jacques Frémont announced that he had called upon former Supreme Court Justice the Honorable Michel Bastarache (C.C, Q.C.) to establish and chair a Committee on Academic Freedom to review the nature and limits of academic freedom at uOttawa. The mandate of this committee has already been made public.

Today, the University is announcing the names of the five faculty members who will sit on the committee. They are:

  • Tansy Etro-Beko, part-time professor, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts;
  • Jude Mary Cénat, assistant professor, School of Psychology, Faculty of Social Sciences;
  • Alizera Jalali, associate professor and associate dean, external relations, engagement and advancement, Faculty of Medicine;
  • Jonathan Paquette, professor and holder of the research chair on the international Francophonie and cultural heritage policies, Faculty of Social Sciences;
  • Sophie Thériault, vice-dean (academics) and full professor, Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section.

The committee begins its work today, and one of its priorities will be to plan and schedule consultations so that all members of the uOttawa community have an opportunity to be heard.

Justice Bastarache and committee members will submit their report before the end of summer 2021.




Back to top