MEDIA ADVISORY: uOttawa holds first ever live virtual spring Convocation ceremonies

Posted on Monday, June 14, 2021

uOttawa logo

A Convocation is the official ceremony at which one is conferred their degree by their university’s Chancellor in front of their peers. It is imbued with time-old traditions, pomp, and circumstance to reflect the accomplishments made by the graduating class but throw in a global pandemic and one must adapt to the times.

And so, we have.

For the first time ever, the uOttawa Convocation ceremonies will be offered in a live virtual format that will allow us to honor our students and celebrate their hard-earned successes, all the while abiding by current public health guidelines. The nine ceremonies spread over three days will be recorded so that students living in other time zones can watch or rewatch them when it suits them.

Members of the Class of 2021 - 8,021 strong - have had their share of challenges brought on by the global pandemic, yet they have shown a tremendous amount of strength in the face of adversity.

Students will be able to share their personal photos and home celebrations on social media with uOttawa customized filters and stickers using the hashtags #uOgrad and #GGnation. 

At the ceremonies nine visionary leaders will be awarded honorary doctorates from the University of Ottawa for their substantial contributions to their alma matter, their profession, or to society at large. They include Tina Boileau, Pierre Lavoie, Allen Eaves, Wes Hall, Gilles Patry, The Honourable Louise Charron, Doris Peltier, Kevin Loring, and May Berenbaum.

Convocation ceremonies begin today, June 14 until Wednesday June 16, 2021.The full schedule is available here.  


  • Nine Honorary doctorate recipients
  • Calin Rovinescu, Chancellor, University of Ottawa
  • Jacques Frémont, President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Deans from all 10 faculties
  • Class presidents

WHAT: uOttawa’s Spring Convocation

WHERE: Online – you may stream the ceremonies here by clicking on the faculty name

WHEN: June 14-15-16, 2021 at 11:30 am, 3:30 pm, and 7:30 pm each dAy.


Media enquiries:

Back to top