New members of Royal Society of Canada academies shine bold and bright

Posted on Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Logo Société royale du Canada - Royal Society of Canada Logo


A group of twelve researchers from the University of Ottawa will be joining the ranks of Canada’s brightest minds, with five elected to the Royal Society of Canada and seven others gaining admittance to the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

“We proudly congratulate these new inductees. To the fellows, who have the passion, knowledge and expertise that inspires people and changes the world for the better. To the new members of the College, who, already successful researchers and professors, will become influential leaders in their fields,” said Mona Nemer, vice-president, research.

Election to the academies of the Royal Society of Canada is the highest honour a scholar can achieve in the arts, humanities and sciences. The new University of Ottawa fellows, elected by their peers, have backgrounds in areas of significant socio-economic relevance such as aboriginal issues, environmental and health law as well as francophonie. They include:

  • Jamie Benidickson - Widely known for his contributions in environmental law, legal history and public policy, particularly for his detailed analyses of natural resource management and interdisciplinary work on the legal framework for water and wastewater infrastructure.
  • Béatrice Craig - Praised as a historian of economic, social and cultural change, Béatrice Craig is a well-known specialist on the emergence of western capitalist societies.
  • Colleen Flood - University Research Chair in Health Law & Policy, Colleen Flood focuses on comparative health care law & policy, public/private financing of health care systems, health care reform, constitutional law and administrative law.
  • Anne Gilbert - Professor Gilbert is a world-renowned specialist in social geography. Her innovative approaches on the spaces and places of official language minorities in Canada have earned her several prestigious honours
  • Sébastien Grammond - Professor Grammond is a pioneer and one of the leading experts on Aboriginal Law in Canada

To recognize emerging generations of leaders, the Royal Society of Canada established the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists, for researchers in the early stages of their careers. This year’s cohort from the University of Ottawa includes researchers in areas ranging from the Northwest Passage to cyberharassment and nanomagnets:

  • Jane Bailey - Her research examines the impacts of online hate, child pornography, identity-based cyberharassment and the non-consensual distribution of intimate images on the privacy and expressive rights of equality-seeking groups
  • Jackie Dawson - A Canada Research Chair in Environment, Society and Policy, her interdisciplinary and collaborative research on human and policy dimensions of environmental change in Arctic Canada has had a significant influence on public policy.
  • Pascale Fournier - University Research Chair in Comparative Law, she has achieved recognition for her ground-breaking work on gender and religion, using interviews with women in various countries to highlight the complex interplay between religious and secular law.
  • Brenda Macdougall - University Chair in Metis Research, she continually engages with Aboriginal communities, organizations and policy makers, informing evidence-based policy and legislation.
  • Muralee Murugesu - His internationally acclaimed research has led to some of the highest performing nanomagnets to date and has furthered our understanding of inherent magnetic properties of rare earth elements.
  • Chidi Oguamanam - Professor Oguamanam’s research straddles issue linkages in the global governance of knowledge and explores law’s marginalization of alternative knowledge frameworks.
  • Alexandre Poulain - He studies how microbes sense and transform metals to hone models predicting pollutants’ fate in the environment as well as develop bioremediation strategies.

The University of Ottawa now has a total of 103 Fellows and 13 College members. The new members will be inducted into the academies of the RSC during a ceremony on Friday, November 18, 2016, at the Isabel Bader Centre in Kingston, Ontario.

Learn more about the new members.

Media inquiries:

Isabelle Mailloux-Pulkinghorn
Manager (acting), Media Relations
Cell: 613-240-0275

Back to top