One last Convocation for Allan Rock

Posted on Tuesday, June 7, 2016

For the last time as University of Ottawa president and vice-chancellor, Allan Rock will present graduates with the fruits of their labour: their diplomas. Convocation is a milestone in the lives of students and the perfect moment to celebrate their achievements with pride.

This spring, the University of Ottawa will have the honour of granting degrees to more than 7,180 students in 12 ceremonies taking place from June 17 to 20, 2016 in beautiful Southam Hall of the National Arts Centre. The ceremonies will be streamed live on uOttawa’s YouTube channel.

The University will also confer honorary doctorates on remarkable individuals who have distinguished themselves through their commitment and their outstanding contributions to the University, their professions or society. The 2016 honorary doctorate recipients are:

  • Yves Joanette, professor, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal
  • Barbara Jackman, partner, Jackman, Nazami & Associates
  • Jeffrey A. Kottler, professor and one of the foremost authorities and most prolific writers in the fields of counselling, psychology and education
  • Gisèle Lalonde, uOttawa alumna and pioneer in the field of education in Francophone Ontario
  • Louis Vachon, president and chief executive officer, National Bank of Canada
  • Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator of Canada
  • Honourable Lloyd Axworthy, Canadian politician, statesman and academic
  • Huda Akil, neuroscientist
  • Richard L’Abbé, uOttawa alumnus and co-founder of Med-Eng Systems

Ceremonies and honorary doctorate recipients
The honorary doctorates will be conferred during the June 17 to 20th convocation ceremonies, with two to three ceremonies taking place each day (9:30 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7 p.m.).
Note: Recipients of honorary doctorates will deliver their speeches approximately 30 minutes after the beginning of each ceremony.

For further details, see the schedule of ceremonies.

Social media
Twitter: @uOttawa #uOGrad
Facebook: #uOGrad
Instagram: @uOttawa #uOGrad

Media inquiries

Néomie Duval
Manager, Media Relations
Cell: 613-240-0275

Amélie Ferron-Craig
Media Relations Officer
Cell: 613-863-7221

Back to top