Exceptional students, outstanding personalities and the installation of new Chancellor Michaëlle Jean at Convocation 2012

Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012

The University of Ottawa will honour eight prestigious personalities and award over 5,400 diplomas to eligible students from its faculties during its Spring 2012 Convocation. A total of over 7,500 students will be receiving diplomas.

The twelve ceremonies will take place daily from June 2 to 5, at 9:30 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., in the National Arts Centre's Southam Hall in Ottawa.

Honorary doctorates will be awarded to men and women who have stood out through their major contributions to the University, their profession or society in general in various fields, including business, culture, education, women's rights, science and technology.

The official installation of the Chancellor of the University of Ottawa, the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, will take place on Saturday, June 2, during the first Convocation ceremony, which begins at 9:30 a.m. Ms. Jean will then preside over all Convocation ceremonies.

For the first time, the University has elected valedictorians, an academic title given to students who demonstrate community involvement and who have an exemplary academic record. Valedictorians will have the honour of delivering a commencement address during their faculty's ceremony.

A sample of Tweets sent throughout the convocation ceremonies will be used to create a story on Storify [external link].

Among the more touching moments of the four days of ceremony will be the awarding of a posthumous degree to Danielle Naçu, who died following a cycling accident in October 2011. Her diploma will be awarded during the ceremony for the Faculty of Social Sciences at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, June 3.

Listed below are the various ceremonies and honorary doctorate recipients.
Please note that honorary doctorate recipients will speak approximately a half hour after each ceremony begins.


9:30 a.m.: Ceremony I — Faculty of Arts I and Saint Paul University
Installation ceremony of the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean

2:30 p.m.: Ceremony II — Faculty of Arts II
Daniel Lamarre is President and CEO of Cirque du Soleil. A University of Ottawa alumnus (Communication), he began his career as a journalist at Le Nouvelliste and Radio-Canada. He began working in public relations with the Fédération des caisses populaires du Centre du Québec and Cogeco. He later served as Vice-President and CEO of Burson-Marsteller, opening its first Montreal office, and as President of National Public Relations. Immediately prior to joining Cirque du Soleil, he was President and CEO of TVA Group.

7:30 p.m.: Ceremony III — Faculty of Engineering
Michel Brûlé is President of M&M Investments, which provides strategic services and venture capital to help start-up companies become profitable. A University of Ottawa alumnus in Electrical Engineering, he has founded six technology companies. He is seen as one of the earliest “angel investors,” and was named 2010 Canadian Angel of the Year by the National Angel Capital Organization.


9:30 a.m.: Ceremony IV — Faculty of Law
“Jane Doe” has worked for a quarter of a century as an educator, activist and writer on women's equality rights and the intersections of gender, race and class in crimes of sexual violence. Her groundbreaking lawsuit against the police found them guilty of negligence and charter violations (Jane Doe v. The Toronto Police 1998), and is chronicled in her book “The Story of Jane Doe” (2004). Both are taught in university and high school curricula across Canada and internationally.

2:30 p.m.: Ceremony V — Faculty of Social Sciences I
7:30 p.m.: Ceremony VI — Faculty of Social Sciences II

Kim Pate is Executive Director of the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies, an umbrella body bringing together Elizabeth Fry Societies nationwide. The Societies provide support and advocacy for women who are currently or who have been in prison, including members of some of the most vulnerable groups in society. Kim has been active on matters such as the inquiry into the conditions at the Prison for Women in Kingston and Judge Lynn Ratushny's Self-Defence Review of the cases of women convicted for killing violent male partners. In 2009, Kim Pate received the Canadian Bar Association's Touchstone Award for furthering equality in the legal community in Canada.


9:30 a.m.: Ceremony VII — Telfer School of Management
Monique F. Leroux is President and CEO of Desjardins Group. She held senior positions with Quebecor Inc., the Royal Bank and Ernst & Young. She also holds positions on many national and international boards and is a former president of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec. In 2010, Monique F. Leroux was named one of 25 Transformational Canadians by The Globe and Mail, CTV and La Presse.

2:30 p.m.: Ceremony VIII — Faculty of Health Sciences I
7:30 p.m.: Ceremony IX — Faculty of Health Sciences II and Faculty of Medicine

Claude Bouchard is Professor and Director of the Human Genomics Laboratory at Pennington Biomedical Research Center in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, where he holds the John W. Barton, Sr. Endowed Chair in Genetics and Nutrition. His research examines the genetics of adaptation to exercise and of obesity, along with morbidities associated with obesity, such as type 2 diabetes and hypertension. Claude Bouchard is a Fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine, the American Society of Nutrition, the American Heart Association and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


9:30 a.m.: Ceremony X — Faculty of Science
Avelino Corma Canos is the co-founder and former director of the Instituto de Tecnología Química of the Universidad Politécnica in Valencia, Spain. Corma is a recognized leader in catalysts used in refining, petrochemistry and chemical processes. He is responsible for more than 100 patents, including the isopar process for short chain paraffin isomerization, propylene oxide and a catalyst for natural gas transformation. He has received numerous awards, including the Spain National Award on Science and Technology.

2:30 p.m.: Ceremony XI — Faculty of Education I
7:30 p.m.: Ceremony XII — Faculty of Education II

Elarbi Imad is the President and Executive Director of the Moroccan Center for Civic Education. At a time when Morocco is engaging in political reform, the Center educates and trains youth to better exercise their citizenship. It offers programs that use schools to encourage youth to participate in government. Elarbi Imad is also Country Director of the Civitas International Program, which promotes civic education in eighty countries.

Back to top