University of Ottawa recognizes two rising research stars

Posted on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

The University of Ottawa is delighted to announce that professors Craig Kuziemsky, from the Telfer School of Management, and Denis Lacelle, from the Faculty of Arts, are the winners of the Young Researcher of the Year Award. This award is presented annually to two University of Ottawa faculty members who have made exceptional contributions to research and student mentorship.

“On behalf of the University, I extend congratulations to professors Kuziemsky and Lacelle. We are proud of their outstanding achievements and the inspiring work they've accomplished. They are true role models for the next generation of researchers,” said Mona Nemer, Vice-President, Research.

Craig Kuziemsky is an associate professor at the Telfer School of Management and an acclaimed researcher in health informatics, a field that is at the crossroads of engineering, medicine and health sciences. Through his study of collaboration in multidisciplinary teams, he has developed innovative ways of understanding how health teams work. In addition, he designs information and communication tools to help healthcare providers working with different levels of knowledge from different locations make complex decisions. Moreover, in his capacity as the Director of the Master's of Science in Health Systems program, he is a supervisor, mentor and important role model for graduate students.

Since 2011, the year he joined the University of Ottawa's Department of Geography, Professor Denis Lacelle has made significant contributions to scientific knowledge of the origin, age, composition and future of Arctic and Antarctic ground ice. He is already an internationally recognized expert in the study of Arctic permafrost, and his research has improved assessments of the impact of rapid climate change on permafrost in northern Canada, as well as our understanding of the microbial diversity and evolution of Antarctic permafrost. His results are highly relevant to water quality and aquatic ecology.  He is also pioneering a new approach that has fascinating implications for the detection of ancient life in ice, and as a result, he is involved in a NASA-sponsored project that could lead to a science mission to Mars.

The Young Researcher of the Year Award was created in 1995 to recognize excellence and encourage leadership and innovation. Each award is accompanied by a $10,000 research grant.

The University of Ottawa is committed to research excellence and encourages an interdisciplinary approach to knowledge creation, which attracts the best academic talent from across Canada and around the world. The University is an important stakeholder in the National Capital Region's economic development, with a total regional economic impact estimated at $4 billion annually.

Kina Leclair
Media Relations Officer
University of Ottawa
Office: 613-562-5800 ext. 2529
Cell: 613-762-2908

Back to top