A uOttawa convocation marked by inspiring stories

Posted on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Convocation is a time to celebrate an important milestone for students and their families. The University of Ottawa would like to congratulate the record 8,293 students receiving degrees and celebrate the journey that has brought them here. This year, 13 ceremonies will take place between June 13 and 17, 2014.

Each University of Ottawa graduate follows a unique path towards success, and the 2014 cohort is no exception. Take Kimberley deLaunay for example, who returned to school over 20 years after finishing high school to earn her honours bachelor's degree in science, proving that it is never too late to pursue post-secondary studies. For others, like Ruth Bradley-St-Cyr and Marie-Nichole St-Cyr, it's been a family affair. The mother-daughter duo is graduating this year from the Faculty of Arts, with Ruth earning a PhD and Marie Nichole earning a bachelor's degree. These are only two examples of the countless passionate, engaged and driven students receiving their diploma this spring.

The University is also conferring honorary doctorates on eight outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through their major contributions to the University, to their profession or to society. The 2014 honorary doctorate recipients are:

Lisa LaFlamme, Chief Anchor and Senior Editor at CTV News
Gururaj Deshpande, President and Chairman of Sparta Group LLC, entrepreneur and founder of the Deshpande Foundation
Claudette Bradshaw, Former Canadian politician and Moncton At home/Chez soi Site Coordinator for the Mental Health Commission of Canada
Sheila Block, Partner, Torys LLP and Chair of Torys LLP's litigation and dispute resolution practice
Louise Wendling, Senior Vice-President and Country Manager at Costco Canada
Gilles Brassard, Holder of the Canada Research Chair in Quantum Information Processing at Université de Montréal
Jean-Pierre Changeux, Professor Emeritus at Collège de France and Institut Pasteur
Dr. Gilles Julien, Social pediatrician and founder of Fondation du Dr. Julien

The honorary doctorates will be conferred during the Convocation ceremonies taking place from June 13 to 17, 2014, with two to three ceremonies taking place each day (9:30 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.) at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa.

For further details, please consult the schedule of ceremonies.

Social media information

Twitter: @uOttawaAlumni #uOGrad
Facebook: www.facebook.com/uOttawaAlumni #uOGrad
Instagram: @uOttawa #uOGrad

Media inquiries

Caroline Milliard
Manager, Media Relations
University of Ottawa
Cell.: 613-240-0275

Kina Leclair
Media Relations Officer
University of Ottawa
Office: 613-562-5800 (2529)
Cell.: 613-762-2908

Danika Gagnon
Media Relations Officer
University of Ottawa
Office: 613-562-5800 (2981)
Cell.: 613-863-7221

Back to top