Need an expert? President Trump: Impact on Canada and the World

Posted on Friday, January 20, 2017

 

Donald Trump will be sworn in as the 45th President of the United States on Friday, January 20, 2017. The implications of the Trump administration in the White House are far reaching both for Canada and the world.

Members of the media may directly contact the following experts:

Legalization of Marijuana / Homeland Security

Errol Mendes 
Common Law Section, Faculty of Law
United Nations, foreign policy, international law and human rights, law and policy on anti-terrorism, role of ethics, democracy and its relationship to the economy, the impact of budgetary and taxation policy on social policy initiatives, international law issues
613-799-0559
emendes@uOttawa.ca 

American politics, society and demography

Carlo Dade (on site in Washington, D.C.)
School of International Development and Global Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences
American politics, demographic analysis in politics, political economy of development, the role of the private sector in development, corporate social responsibility, U.S. foreign and development policy
403-973-3279
cdade@uOttawa.ca

Yves Laberge
Faculty of Social Sciences, School of Sociological and Anthropological Studies
Politics in the United States
Office: 613-562-5868
ylaberge@uottawa.ca

Foreign policy

Ferry de Kerckhove
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, Faculty of Social Sciences
Democracy and democratization, foreign aid, foreign policy, geopolitics, human rights, international commerce, international communications, international political economy, international relations, religion, wars, Afghanistan, Southeast Asia, Middle East
Office: 613-562-5800 (4852)
Cell: 613-400-2414
Home: 613-421-8263
ferry.de.kerckhove@uOttawa.ca

Immigration and Multiculturalism

Patti Lenard
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
Immigration, temporary foreign workers, refugees, foreign students, successes and failures of multicultural policies, trust among diverse communities
Office: 613-562-5800 (8995)
Cell: 613-796-6647
Home: 613-796-6647
E-mail: plenard@uOttawa.ca

Violence and Crime Prevention

Irvin Waller
Institute for the Prevention of Crime
Department of Criminology, Faculty of Social Sciences
Violence and crime in Canada, crime prevention, crime victims, crime victims' rights, national policy on crime
Cell.: 613-762-6752
irvin.waller@uOttawa.ca

Economy and trade

Debra Steger
Common Law Section, Faculty of Law
International finance, international trade, international commerce
Office: 613-562-5800 (3323) or 562-5124
Cell.: 613-301-7623
Debra.Steger@uOttawa.ca

Jacqueline Best
Faculty of Social Sciences
Ethics in international affairs, global economic issues, international political economy
Office: 613-562-5800 (1719)
jbest@uOttawa.ca

Environment

Stephen Bird
Associate Professor of Political Science at Clarkson University and Canada-U.S. Fulbright Visiting Research Chair in Governance and Public Administration
Politics, energy conflict, energy poverty
sbird@clarkson.edu

Jean-Thomas Bernard
Department of Economics, Faculty of Social Sciences
Prices, costs, taxes and environmental policies relating to natural resources, economics of natural resources, energy
Office: 613-562-5800 (1374)
jbernar3@uOttawa.ca

Stewart Elgie
Common Law Section, Faculty of Law
International environmental law, environmental economics, global warming, climate change, endangered species, green economy, clean energy, Aboriginal legal issues and the environment, administrative law, constitutional law
Office: 613-562-5800 (2525)
selgie@uOttawa.ca

Back to top